KCML6 and WDW

Post Reply
Blackshaw
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:29 am

KCML6 and WDW

Post by Blackshaw » Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:20 am

I proposed to upgrade thsi site from KCML 5.02 and WDW to KCML6 and KClient.

Some bright spark has suggested that we go to KCML6 and stay with WDW to save the licence costs. ADP tell us that no one else in the world has this setup but that seems to be a of little importance to those interested in saving money.

Has anyone tried KCML6 with WDW and if so were any issues encountered or can you think of any likely problems. I am eager to come up with some way of stopping this lunacy.

Finger crossed

Bob Blackshaw

Thor
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:56 pm

Re: KCML6 and WDW

Post by Thor » Thu Jan 28, 2010 10:33 am

I have never used WDW with KCML6

But i think
WDW does not support forms and KClient does not support kermit

I thought that KClient was free from http://www.kcml.com

Why do you want to upgrade from KCML 5.02 to KCML 6

:)

Blackshaw
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:29 am

Re: KCML6 and WDW

Post by Blackshaw » Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:59 am

I need to support files over 2GB which KCML 5 doesnot do.

I am aware of the Kclient and WDW restrictions you mention.

I know KCML6 is free , I just wanted to be safe and use KClient.

What I am trying to find is some reason that will stop me being the only person on the planet supporting KCML6 and WDW

UKMonkeyMAn
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 7:54 pm

Re: KCML6 and WDW

Post by UKMonkeyMAn » Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:13 pm

We moved from KCML 5 to 6 for the same reason.

We ran (still do) with WDW without a problem, just as long as you don't want to use KCML forms.

We actually found that a switch from WDW to Kclient caused more issues as users were used to function keys and macro's that Kclient did not support.

Blackshaw
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:29 am

Re: KCML6 and WDW

Post by Blackshaw » Wed Feb 03, 2010 3:09 am

Well at least I am not the only one which is a relief.

And now the questions ......

Which versions of KCML6 and WDW do you use?

How long have you been running this combination?

I am keen to use ODBC with KLCML6 , do you have experience of that and if so how did you find it?

Regards

Bob Blackshaw

UKMonkeyMAn
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 7:54 pm

Re: KCML6 and WDW

Post by UKMonkeyMAn » Wed Feb 03, 2010 1:39 pm

any WDW 32 bit works OK, the 16 bit version works, but only when run in a compatibility mode (depending on your version of windows).


KCML6 will come with ODBC, never had any issues with that.

We use the sources file for the datasources, there is an issue that if a kconf.xml file exists within the kcml folder then it overrides sources, so delete kconf.xml if you are not using it.


The only issue that you might come up against with KCML6 is that if you are runing Linux, the SHELL functions execute slower for some reason.

marty sullivan
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:55 pm

Re: KCML6 and WDW

Post by marty sullivan » Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:58 pm

not sure why someone told you that KCML6 and wdw don't work. we've been using them together for about 8 years!!!!!!!

PeterCameron
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: KCML6 and WDW

Post by PeterCameron » Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:36 pm

We prefer WDW to K-Client, but on some more recent machines it hangs when it starts up, on others it works OK.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest