2GB File Limit

Post Reply
Blackshaw
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:29 am

2GB File Limit

Post by Blackshaw » Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:51 am

KCML: 05.02.00.6056 running under Solaris 10 and Unix.

I can create a Unix file via the shell any size I like but if I use 'ki_create the scratch file is created over 2GB but a ki-status of 17 ( I/O error) is returned.

In all cases 'ki_create fails if the scratch file and hence the resulting KCML file is over 2GB.

Running on Solaris 9 under KCML: 05.50.00.11056 this problem does not exist.

I have removed all references to ULIMIT in .profiles to eliminate them from the equation.

Any ideas

Bob Blackshaw

UKMonkeyMAn
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 7:54 pm

Re: 2GB File Limit

Post by UKMonkeyMAn » Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:54 am

Hi there,

Certain version of KCML will not support files over 2GB, they have an in-built limit.

Can you print out $MACHINE byte 54:

A bit field indicating optional features set during connection or compiled into KCML
HEX(01) Can access files up to 4 Terabytes else up to 2 Gigabytes
HEX(02) Pseudo-tty support is enabled for SHELL, always true for telnet connections
HEX(04) Client was authenticated and $LOGNAME is reliable
HEX(08) A service has been selected and an appropriate environment set up. $SERVICE is reliable. This could have been done by either the connection manager or KCML executing CALL KI_CONNECT.
HEX(10) A process global started as kcml -g and using shared memory.
HEX(20) The server supports server-side $DECLARE

If you can, download (from http://www.kcml.com) 5.50 with large file support.

Blackshaw
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:29 am

Re: 2GB File Limit

Post by Blackshaw » Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:00 pm

Thanks for you reply.

I had forgotten about $MACHINE as I work on an inhouse installation for the State Government where radical ideas like keeping upto date are not encouraged.

Byte 54 is set to Hex(00) so thats it.

I have 5.50 on another box can I just lift the kcml files or do I have to get a new copy from the KCML site.

If I can lift it then what files do I need to copy.

Regards

Bob Blackshaw

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest